The British Academy is the UK’s national body for the promotion of the humanities and social sciences.

Home to the British Academy

From archaeology to psychology, law to linguistics, history to economics, the Academy aims to inspire, recognise and support excellence in its disciplines, as well as shape policy and nurture curiosity. For more information on the Academy ‘s work, and to find out how you can get involved, please visit

The Academy has an extensive and varied events programme, including talks, panel discussions and conferences open to the public throughout the year. For more information on events and how to register, please visit

The British Academy is a registered Charity and a number of its activities, including public lectures and prizes, are funded by its Fellows and other supporters. To learn more, please visit:

Background to The British Academy

The British Academy received its Royal Charter from King Edward VII in 1902.Many of Britain's most distinguished scholars have been Fellows of the Academy. They includes influential economists John Maynard Keynes, Friedrich Hayek and William Beveridge; the eminent thinkers Karl Popper and Isaiah Berlin; Louis and Mary Leakey, who made pioneering discoveries on the origins of man; A. J. P. Taylor, Kenneth Clark and Mortimer Wheeler, scholars who were also great communicators; and C. S. Lewis and Henry Moore, Fellows who combined learning with creativity.

In 1998, the Academy moved to its present headquarters at 10 Carlton House Terrace.